Exeter and District Basketball Association
Sunday November 19 2017 
Featured Sponsors

Facebook
Blood.co.uk
Immobilise.com
Teamer.net
mySportSite
278095 visitors
since September 6, 2008

RSS Feed

Decision Time?



 
1 Immediately after the start of a period team A scores. The timer notifies the referee that the clock has not started. The referee cancels the basket, and restarts the period. Is this the correct procedure? NO
2 While attempting a successful shot for goal, A2 is fouled. A technical foul is charged against coach B. A2's free throw resulting from the original foul is successful. Before the ball has become live for the first free throw resulting from the coach B technical foul, a time-out is requested by coach A. Shall the time-out be permitted? YES
3 A4 attempts a jump shot for field goal. While the ball is in the air, the twenty four second device signal sounds. After the signal, but with A4 still in the air, B4 commits an unsportsmanlike foul on A4 and the ball misses the ring. Shall two/three free throws shall be awarded to A4 followed by a team A throw-in at the centre line extended? YES
4 Near the end of a period, B4 fouls A4 while A4 is in the act of shooting. The horn sounds to end the period. After the horn sounds, A4 releases the ball in a continuous motion and the ball enters the basket. Is the official correct in counting the basket and awarding A4 one free throw? NO
5 Immediately after the ball is legally tapped by A3 on the jump ball at the beginning of the first period, A5 and B5 are involved in a held ball. Shall the jump ball be repeated? YES
6 A shot for a basket by A2 does not touch the rim or enter the basket. Before either team can establish control of the ball, a held ball occurs. At the time of the held ball, there is 10 seconds remaining in the 24-second period. Team A is entitled to the next alternating possession throw-in. Shall team A have only 10 seconds remaining in the 24-second period? YES
7 Players A2, A3, and A4 are involved in a fight situation and are disqualified. Shall coach A also be disqualified? NO
8 A10 requests to enter the game as a substitute for A4 at the next opportunity. During the next dead ball, but before an official has beckoned A10 to enter the playing court, a technical foul is committed by A4. Shall the A4 foul be considered a player's foul? YES
9 A4 is in the act of shooting when fouled by B4. Immediately after the whistle for the foul the 24-second device signal sounds. After the signal the ball leaves the hands of A4 and enters the basket. Shall the officials award the basket to A4? NO
10 On the last free throw by A5, the ball fails to touch the rim or enter the basket. Shall the resulting team B throw-in be administered at the endline, but not directly behind the backboard? NO
 
 
 
 11. Player shoots with his foot touching but not breaking the three-point line. The shot is successful and the referee awards two points. Is this correct?

Yes, only if the player is behind the line will they be awarded three points.


 12. A player makes a legitimate shot for goal and realises that the shot will miss, he runs to retrieve the ball for a second attempt. The ball does not touch the ring or the backboard. Is this a violation?

No, if this is a legitimate shot for goal then the player can catch the ball again even if the ball does not touch any of the equipment.
 
 
 13. During a throw-in, shall the ball become live when it touches or is touched by a player on the court?
 
No, during a throw in, the ball is live when it is at the disposal of the player for the throw-in. Art 10.2
 
 14. There is a technical foul given to a player before the start of the game, what is the correct procedure to start the game?
2 free throws will be awarded to the opposing team and the game will begin with a jump ball.


 15. The ball is rolling on the ring after a shot for goal and it is tapped away by a defender, what's your call?
Play on, this is a legal move by the defender.
 

 16. During a time-out A8 informs the scorekeeper that he wishes to enter the game to replace A5. Must A8 report this to any of the floor officials?
No, Players are only required to inform the scorekeeper that they wish to be substituted.


 17. At what point should the coach confirm his starting 5 and sign the score sheet?
10 minutes before the scheduled tip off time each coach is required to nominate his starting 5 and sign the score book.


 18. A player whose is in possession of the ball steps onto the halfway line from his front court?
The whistle should be blown for a back court violation as the half way line is part of the back court.
 

 19. A shot for a field goal is in the air when the game clock signals to end the period. While the ball is still live after the signal has sounded, a foul is committed by A2. Shall A2's foul be considered to have happened during the interval of play?

Yes. Art 9.8 refers.

 20. During a throw-in, shall the ball become live when it touches or is touched by a player on the court?

No.

                                                  
 
 
                                                                                                       

 21. While A2 is in the act of shooting for a field goal, B4 commits an unsportsmanlike foul on A4, after which B5 commits interference on A2's shot for goal. A technical foul is then committed by coach A. Shall play resume with a throw-in at the end line for team B?

Yes, cancelled out fouls.

 22. While A3 is in control of the ball with 10 seconds remaining in the 24-second period, unsportsmanlike fouls are committed by A2 and B2. Shall play resume with a team A throw-in and 10 seconds remaining in the 24-second period?

Yes, cancelled out fouls.

 23. During an unsuccessful last or only free-throw, both A4 and B4 in their free-throw rebound places commit a violation. Is this a jump ball situation?

Yes, Art 12.33 refers.

 24. During the alternating possession throw-in that begins a period, A5 has the ball at his disposal at the throw-in spot when a foul is committed by B3. Has B3's foul occurred during an interval of play?

No.

 25. A game ends with the score team A 76, team B 75. Before the referee has signed the score sheet, the scorer realises that a field goal scored by team B has been erroneously credited to team A. Shall the score be changed to correct the error?

Yes.

 26. A shot for a field goal by A3 is in the air when the 24-second signal sounds. The ball touches the backboard, but fails to enter the basket or touch the rim and team B does not gain immediate and clear control of the ball. Shall a throw in be awarded to team B at the end line but not directly behind the backboard?

Yes.

 27. At approximately the same time, A2 and B2 commit technical fouls by verbally abusing each other. Have A2 and B2 committed a double foul?

No.

 28. Offensive interference is committed by A4. Shall the play resume with a team B throw-in at the end line not directly behind the backboard?

No, free throw line extended.

                
 
 
 
                                                                                                                                     

 29. While the ball is in the air on a shot by A4 for a field goal, the 24-second signal sounds. The ball does not touch the ring on the shot, after which it is immediately controlled by B5. Has a 24-second violation occurred?

No.
 

30. During an alternating possession throw-in by A2, he commits a violation. Team B is awarded a throw-in as a result of the violation. Shall team B still be entitled to the next alternating possession throw-in?

Yes.

 31. While A4 is holding a live ball out of bounds at the end line in team A's frontcourt, A2 is more than 3 seconds in that restricted area. Has A2 committed a violation?

No.

 32. A5 is wearing sufficiently padded protective equipment on the upper arm. Shall A5 be permitted to participate in the game?

Yes, Art 4.42 refers.

 33. A3's shot for a gal does not touch the ring or enter the basket after which a held ball occurs before any player can gain control of the ball. When the held ball occurs, 15 seconds remains in the 24 second period. Team A is entitled to the next alternating possession throw-in. when play resumes, shall team A continue to have only 15 seconds remaining in the 24 second period?

Yes.

 34. A7 substitutes for A5. Before the clock can start again following the substitution, A2 commits his 5th foul. The only team A substitute available is A5. May A5 now substitute for A2?

Yes.

 35. While team A is in control of the ball, A3 commits the third team A foul in that period. Before the resulting throw-in, a double foul is committed. Is this a jump ball situation?

No.

 36. While the clock is stopped and the ball is dead, A4 appears to be injured and coach A comes onto the court to attend to A4. Team B then requests a time-out. At the end of the time-out and before a substitute has reported to the scorer to replace A4, coach A asks that A4 remains in the game. Shall A4 be permitted to continue participating?

Yes.

 37. After a team A field goal, technical fouls are committed by A3 and B3. Shall play resume with an end line throw-in to team B?

Yes .

 38. A4 has been in the team B restricted area for 2 seconds when A5 releases a shot for a 3 point field goal. The ball strikes the backboard but not the basket ring and rebounds to A4, who is still within the restricted area. Shall A4 be immediately charged with a 3 second violation?

No.

 39. While the ball is in the air on a last free-throw a double foul occurs, after which the free-throw is successful, is this a jump ball situation?

No.

 40. During an interval of play, team A is entitled to the next alternating possession. During the same interval of play, a technical foul is charged to a team A player. Shall team A continue to be entitled to the next alternating possession?

Yes.

 41. Coach A is given a warning for disrespectfully communicating with the table officials. Later in the game and while team A is in control of the ball, coach A again disrespectfully addresses the table officials, after which A2 scores a field goal. Coach A's repeated action is now brought to the attention of the referee who charges coach A with a technical foul. Shall the gal by A2 be cancelled?

No.

 42. Team A has been in continuous control of the ball in its backcourt for 4 seconds when the clock is stopped because of an injury to a team A player. When play resumes, shall team A be given a new 8-second period to move the ball to the frontcourt?

No.

 43. A2 in the team A frontcourt attempts to pass to A4. The ball touches an official and is deflected into the team A backcourt where it is controlled by A4. Has a violation occurred for illegally returning to the backcourt?

Yes.

 44. B2 commits interference during A3's shot for goal. Coach B now requests

a timeout. Shall the timeout be granted?

Yes, Art 18.2.3 

 

 

 45. A shot for a field goal is in the air when the game clock signals to end the

period. While the ball is still live after the signal has sounded, a foul is

committed by A2. Shall A2's foul be considered to have happened during the

interval of play?

  Yes, Art 9.8

 

 46. On the alternating possession throw-in that begins a period, the ball has been

released by the thrower-in A2, but has not yet touched a player on the

playing court when a foul is committed by A5. Has A5's foul occurred during

an interval of play?

  No, Art 12.4.8

 

 47. A10 requests to enter the game as a substitute for A4 at the next opportunity.

During the next dead ball, but before an official has beckoned A10 to enter

the playing court, a technical foul is committed by A4. Shall the A4 foul be

considered as a player's foul?

  Yes, Art 4.1.3 & 4.2.3

 

 48. A2 is fouled by B5 and appears to be injured. The coach of team A comes

on to the playing court but A2 insists he is able to continue playing. Shall

a substitution be required for A2?

  Yes, Art 5.3

 

 

 49. Before the ball has been released by A5 on his last free-throw, A3 fouls B3.

This is the 5th team A player foul in that period. Shall free-throws be

awarded to B3?

No, Art 17.2.4 

 

 

 50. At approximately the same time, A2 and B2 commit technical fouls by 

verbally abusing each other. Have A2 and B2 committed a double foul?

No, Art 35.1.1 

 

 

 

 51. After the names and numbers of the players have been approved by the

coach but before the jump ball that will begin the 1st period, the scorer

notifies the referee that two of the players are wearing numbers different

from those on the scoresheet. Shall the numbers on the scoresheet be

corrected without penalty, after which the game shall begin normally?

Yes. 

 52. A7 substitutes for A5. Before the clock can start again following the

substitution, A2 commits his 5th foul. The only team A substitute available is

A5. May A5 now substitute for A2?

  Yes, Art 19.2.4

 

 53. Near the end of the first period, A4 is erroneously awarded two free-throws

and is successful on both attempts. The period ends without the error being

realised. During the first dead ball following the beginning of the second

period, the error is discovered and brought to the attention of the officials.

Shall the free-throws scored by A4 be cancelled?

No, Art 44 

 54. Following a team A field goal during the final two minutes of play in the 4th

period, the ball bounces far away from the in-bounds area. B8 is waiting at

the scorers table to enter the game as a substitute. Shall the official permit

B8 to enter the game?

  Yes, Art 19.2.2

 

 55. A4 is holding a live ball but has not yet dribbled when A4 deliberately throws

the ball against a backboard and catches it again before it has touched

another player. May A4 now begin a dribble?

No, Art 24 

 

 

 56. During the pre-game warm-up a technical foul is committed by by a team A

player. Team B is awarded two free throws to be administered before the 

jump ball that will begin the game. The team B coach requests that B8 who is 

not one of team B's starting players, be permitted to attempt the free throws.

Shall the referee grant this request?

No, Art 39 

 57. A5 is a player-coach. During an interval of play, A5 commits a technical

foul. Shall this technical foul be penalised as a coach's foul?

No, Art 38 

 58. A5 is awarded a free throw. Team A is granted a time-out before the free

throw is administered. Following the time-out A2 is successful with the free

throw attempt, that was awarded to A5. The error is discovered during the first

dead ball after the game has resumed. The officials cancel the one point scored

on the erroneous free throw. Shall play resume with a team B throw-in at the

place closest to where the ball last became dead?

Yes, Art 44

 59. While A2 is in the act of shooting for a field goal, B4 commits an

unsportsmanlike foul on A4, after which B5 commits interference on A2's shot

for goal. A technical foul is then committed by coach A. Shall play resume with

a throw-in at the endline for team B?

  Yes, Art 42.2.7

 

 60. In the pre-game warm-up, team A and team B practice at the correct baskets 

as prescribed by rule. When the jump ball is administered to start the game,

both teams mistakenly face in the wrong directions and play begins. A5

scores two points at which time the error is discovered. Shall the two points

scored by A5 be awarded to team B and credited to the team B captain?

No, Art 9 

 61. A3 has begun his act of shooting when the referee blows his whistle and

signals a foul off the ball by B2 against A4. A3 continues his act of shooting

and the basket is successful. The foul is team B's fifth. Shall the referee

award two free throws to A4?

Yes

 

 62. During the first period a team B substitute is waiting at the scorers table when

A3 scores a field goal. Shall the substitute now be permitted to enter the game?

No, Art 19.2.2 

 63. On a throw-in shall the 5-second count finish when the ball leaves the hands

of the thrower-in?

  Yes, Art 17.3.1

 64. Team A illegally returns the ball to its back court. Shall play resume with a team

B throw-in administered at the centre line extended opposite the scorers table.

No, Art 22.2 

 

 

 

 65. During a fighting situation players A7 and A9 leave the bench area and enter 

the court. They do not participate in the fight. Is the referee correct in

disqualifying both players?

Yes.

 66.During a throw-in shall the ball become live when it touches or is touched

by a player on the court?

No, Art 10.2 

 67. The first period ends with team A entitled to the next alternating possession

throw-in. During the interval of play, technical fouls are committed by B4

and A4. Shall the following period begin with the alternating possession throw-in

by team A?

Yes, Art 42.2.7



Founded 1960

Powered by mySportSite.com Team Website Platform
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Statement